Globe Crossing

Eva and Mona Crossing the Globe

Impressions 1. April 2010

Filed under: Mona — soymona @ 3:38 pm

It is now my last day in Udaipur and I cant read anymore – otherwise I wont have anything left for the train ridem which would be very very bad – its around 17 hours. With a good book, thats nothing and with no book its very very long! 🙂

I have time to write, so Ill write a little bit.

One really crazy thing are the kids in India. Its amazing. And sad sometimes. Generally I am really impressed. The kids are so well raised. They never cry or argue or whatever. Even when they are traveling on the bus or train for quite a long time. The always now how to behave! That is so impressive. I dont know how they do it, but I want to do it as well! 😉 I guess its the respect they have for their parents or grown-ups. But I am not sure about that.

The next crazy thing is, the way the adults treat the children. I am not sure if it is really good. Very often they treat them the same. They talk to them. So when we were for example on the camel safari and we met some kids who were looking for goats or camels, our cook just talked to them. They are not treated as if they were „just children“. This is on one side quite sad, but also not (at least I think so).

The children in India have quite a big responsibility. They start to work, when they are really young and this is of course not nice at all! Very often you can see really young boys carrying heavy buckets with water and old people just watch them. This is … India. 😦 Or they have to care for the animals and they are of course the living of the family quite often. But as you can see, kids are clever and also worth trusting more. They can handle stuff, they are amazing. 🙂 This reminds me of special kind of kindergarten, where kids learn to work with tools. 😀

My cooking class was nice. Meenu is a cool woman and the food was delicious.  Before I leave tonight, I will have another mango curry 🙂 But unfortunately she wont give me the recipe for the chocolate balls and so I cant make them for the party… 😦

My trip is nearly over – I have 2 more days in India and London is kind of home, because Daniel is coming and we will have a great time! 😀

What I wanted to do on the trip was a bit more thinking, getting known to me and other cultures, meet people and … That thinking thing was really interesting. I am normally to distracted to think and especially at the beginning (well, after South America) I thought, I didnt do what I wanted to do and I was a bit unsatisfied. After that it didnt really change because I had Julia for NZ and in OZ where always people and… Well, its hard work for me and it didnt work out the way I wanted too. BUT (sometimes its good to have a but 😀 ) I learned a lot.

All the time you see people, cars, animals, cultures, landscape and and and! All these impressions must be handled somehow and this means that you have to think about them. What I did on the trip was not a lot thinking about me, but more about other stuff I met on my way. But already this is it! Only by thinking of the surroundings includes automatically thinking about oneself. I mean you think always with your own mind (thank God! 😉 ), so the way you think, tells you something about your own personality. What you see, will effect you, it will change you – sometimes not a lot (if its „normal“ stuff at home), but sometimes quite a bit or it alters your points of interest/view and shows sides in yourself you didnt even know they where there! I experienced this especially in India as this country is so different, so spiritual, so poor, so rich, so crazy! That was (and still is for a tiny little while) really amazing. I dont know, if I can use this information back home and I dont know, how fast I will forget all this, but I am so glad that I did feel it at all. I got so much more knowledge and learned so much! Here in India I met quite a few people who were strong and kind of wise (its weird to call somebody wise – just try it, you will see! 😉 ) and I am very thankful for that!

So that is basically it: I learned so much during this last year. I saw so many country’s (18!!! although a few were just a day trip). I met so many interesting and good people. I could experience a completely new level of my friendship with Eva and realized, that their can always be more. I found out, that friendship generally never should be taken too lightly and thrown away too fast! That it is always worth a fight.

That year was so full, full of things – its really hard to describe. Its even hard to feel it. And soon it will be over and it will be good. New things will come, but that trip will never go. Its up to me, how much I will take with me during the next years. What the future will bring, I dont know, but I am very eager to find out! Life is great and appreciating  every moment as much as we can, is the least thing we should do!

I for myself will try to be a better human being. Because as long as I give good, good will come back to me. Life proved that to me and this trip even more! 😀

And now: More Mango-curry for everyone! And the chocolate balls of course *yammi*

Ps. Eva: I read my diary (by the way only 8 pages left!!!): Do you remember the Knoedelwicht??? HAHA! And Frank, the cat? There is soo much… and I had a prediction in there, crazy! I have to tell you! But not now!

 

3 Responses to “Impressions”

  1. Eva Treichel Says:

    Knoedelwichte gibts viele, aber von wem du hier speziell schreibst, keinen Schimmer.
    And by the way, your article is toooooooooo long!!!
    And when did you write your diary… mine is still empty 😉

  2. Suus Says:

    No chocolate balls :S:S:S:S: S:(:(:(:( (im crying)…
    What use is it to come to the Netherlands without chocolate balls??????? Oh my god I am in desperate need of chocolate…


Hinterlasse einen Kommentar